top of page
Writer's pictureAndrea Wenzel

A Mom's Confession from the Ice Age Trail and Hiking with Kids

As a youngster, nothing made me happier than being outdoors. Rain, snow, or sunshine, I enjoyed being in nature. I loved climbing the mulberry trees to eat the fresh berries, walking in the woods, riding my bike, and even building things with sticks, I treasured it all.


We don't let the weather stop us from exploring!
Spring this year has felt a lot more like winter.

So, of course, when we had kids, I couldn't wait to get them out on the trail for some hiking and camping. When they were babies, we'd hike up the bluffs at Devil's Lake State Park with them riding in backpack carriers, and Wyatt was only two weeks old when he took his first camping trip at Mirror Lake State Park.


The more we hike with our children, I've realized that exploring the trails will no longer be the same. At least not for awhile. Gone are the days of walking five miles endlessly chatting away and only stopping to break for a stunning vista or a quick water break. Our "walks" are more like fiddle farting around and always involve a stick.


As we wandered down the canal segment of the Ice Age Trail this morning, we found twigs, played with snow, and viewed some Canadian geese and ducks.


Then there was a rotten tree stump.


The boys were curious about it. I didn't understand why, but I and stepped over to explore it with them anyway. Kids have a unique way of engaging with nature, and I'm learning to be okay with that.


I asked the boys if they wanted to stand inside it. Watson seemed leery, but Wyatt perked up and said, "I do!"


So I picked him up and placed him inside the tree stump.


"Watch out for spiders!" Watson cried out, attempting to scare his brother.


"It's okay, it's snowing, and the spiders are sleeping," his dad reminded him that bugs are not active in the cold weather.


After Wyatt's turn in the trunk of the disintegrating tree, Watson mustered up the courage and asked to go next, so I helped him into the stump.


"Watch for spiders!" younger brother Wyatt screeched hoping to spook his brother, but we all laughed.


Shortly after this, Wyatt wanted to go home and started to protest against taking one more step. We all wanted to keep walking, but the brisk wind had his checks rosey red and he was fed up.


So sadly it was hi ho hi ho, back to the truck we go and our adventure came to a close all too soon.


Although hiking with kids is difficult at times, I know my dreams of family outdoor adventures haven't died, they are just beginning to grow. As a parent, it's natural to want to do things the "right way" or the way we fantasized about it before reality slapped us in the face. For now, I'm just trying to focus on the fun. If it's fun to pick up bugs, go for it. If throwing acorns in the stream makes you giggle, go for it. I want my kids to enjoy the natural world the way they do, not necessarily the way I do. It's their journey, not mine. I still love my adult hikes and long for the day we can all go on a real trek with the kids, but for now I'm perfecting the act of fiddle farting around and I kinda like it.







4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page