top of page
Writer's pictureAndrea Wenzel

Library Discovery Bags: An Unschooling Dream!

Some days are chaotic, and today was one of those days. The boys have been stir-crazy, so I took them to the library for a change of scenery and some new toys to play with.


I picked out some books to read to them, but I also let Watson pick out a few that he was interested in too. The boys picked out two storytelling bags and had math, reading, and science kits. Our library also has these bags, which I'll call discovery bags for now, filled with educational activities and games.



The first bag was my favorite. Inside is a giant whale that unzips to reveal another animal, and that one unzips to see another. It's perfect for a lesson on the food chain! There was also a book and some sight-reading puzzles. The bags kept the boys busy all afternoon and into the evening. Our library is an untapped resource; we should get over there more.


The second kit came with a dinosaur puzzle, a book, and a stuffed dinosaur. While my youngest son enjoyed the dinosaur, I found little educational value.


Nevertheless, the boy's imagination ran wild with these bags. The fish became animals in the ocean and built a new lighthouse to swim around. There was now a mountain in the sea, complete with a rock climber and a bridge. Their creativity always amazes me.



The hardest thing about these bags is that I can't get them to grasp the idea that they are borrowed and going back to the library soon. Of course, I can't find one of the puzzle pieces either.


We also discovered a homeschool event at the end of this month. I don't know if we'll be able to attend, but it would be nice to connect with a few more homeschooled families and maybe even find my tribe 😀

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page